Why is bitacle stealing all our blogs??

September 21, 2006

in From PlainJaneMom.com

And even better, they’re making money by taking our content and then putting Google ads on it. Check this out to see what I mean:

http://en.bitacle.org/blogs/viewblog/xgeipfww0/33?usrmode=1

That’s my post from yesterday. Does it say ‘Plain Jane Mom’ anywhere? Nope. Creepy, right? Here are more:

good blog stolen content
Motherhood Uncensored http://en.bitacle.org/blogs/viewblog/wwayosny0/72?usrmode=1
Suburban Turmoil http://bitacle.org/blogs/viewblog/1f6cvvug0/11?usrmode=1
Friday Playdate http://en.bitacle.org/blogs/viewblog/exg-8w5b0/294?usrmode=1

And there are plenty more, but I’m tired of using their shit site to find them. Since they just subscribe to your RSS feed and use that to build their site, the “fix” is to change your RSS feeds to summaries only, not full posts.

Legitimate aggregators like Technorati display only excerpts of your content, and I have no problem with that. Does bitacle irritate anyone else, or is it just me? Is this just a necessary evil? They’re selling Adsense ads on our content. Is everyone already aware of this and thinks it’s OK? I’m amazed at their gall myself, but I need to hear what y’all think.

{ 4 trackbacks }

» Blog Archive » … and the Bitacle Saga Continues
September 22, 2006 at 5:41 am
Bitacle continues to bask in Advertising Revenues
September 23, 2006 at 3:14 pm
Plain Jane Mom » Bitacle update (you know, the blog thieves)
September 28, 2006 at 1:49 pm
Why I publish using full feeds, and sploggers, scrapers, and other thieves bedamned. :: Plain Jane Mom Blog.
January 24, 2007 at 12:08 pm

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

Niccolò Zamborlini September 22, 2006 at 5:52 am

U got the same problem of my blog. Simply Bitacle.

I resolved it with a .htaccess rule:

# STOP BITACLE!

RewriteEngine On

deny from 212.22.59.251

deny from bitacle.org

valerie September 22, 2006 at 7:39 am

Yup, block them, keep your RSS feeds as you want them. In addition to the IP above, they used 72.78.117.236 to access my site yesterday.

Peggy September 22, 2006 at 7:50 am

oooh…I haven’t used bitacle…only technorati. How frustrating is that, though? Hope that can be resolved fast…

Psst…I’ve also tagged you…

~Peg

Plain Jane Mom September 22, 2006 at 10:00 am

Thank you Niccolò and valerie! I’ll see if that works on my next post.

Owen September 22, 2006 at 12:46 pm

I wrote a WordPress plugin that can block sploggers like Bitacle that I’ve released on my blog. It’s not as comprehensive as good .htaccess settings, but it’s a bit easier to configure and lets you fight back a bit.

Suburban Turmoil September 22, 2006 at 2:47 pm

Wow. I had never even heard of this! Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Niccolò Zamborlini September 22, 2006 at 6:38 pm

Here you a better .htaccess configuration

This new rule wont stupidly block it, it will simply redirect him to a 403 error. MUHAHAH! :D

RewriteBase /

RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^212\.22\.59\.251$ [OR]

RewriteCond %{REMOTE_ADDR} ^72\.78\.117\.236$ [OR]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} Bitacle

RewriteRule .? - [F]

and also, just to be sure, you can add these rules to your robots.txt

User-agent: Bitacle bot/1.1

Disallow: /

User-agent: Bitacle bot

Disallow: /

User-agent: Bitacle

Disallow: /

In italian is “Un harvester buono è un harvester morto” (“A good harvester is a died harvester”) :)

Bye bye!

Plain Jane Mom September 22, 2006 at 7:01 pm

Thanks Niccolò! I think the 72.78.117.236 IP has turned out to be be Owen’s but other than that, this looks great. Thanks!

melissa b. September 25, 2006 at 7:35 pm

I have the same thing happening! Arggghhh. Thank you!

Cyber Lawyer India February 9, 2007 at 11:07 pm

I think, every one need to join in and report Bitacle.org, as a spam to Google.com at http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: